Concealed Carry Arizona
Arizona Concealed Carry Laws
Arizona is currently considered an open carry state - meaning that anyone who can legally possess a firearm may conceal carry it in those states without the need for a permit.
Does Arizona recognize concealed carry permits from other states?
Yes, Arizona recognizes all other states valid permits provided the following conditions are met:
- The permit or license is recognized as valid in the issuing state
- The permit or license holder is both legally present in this state, and not legally prohibited from possessing a firearm from this state.
Is Arizona an Open Carry State?
Yes, Arizona is an open carry state. Laws pertaining to "off limits" locations listed below pertains to open carry as well. In order to open carry you must be 18 years of age. Loaded firearms are not permitted within a vehicle without a license/permit.
All applications for concealed carry permits must be submitted through the Arizona Department of Public Safety and must meet the following guidelines:
- Be a resident of this state or a US citizen
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Not be under indictment for a felony offense.
- Not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or if the individuals right to possess firearms has been restored AND the individual must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.
- Not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution
- Not be unlawfully present in the US
- Satisfactorily completes a firearms safety training program approved by the department of public safety pursuant to ARS §13-3112.N.
1. Determine Application Requirements (above) have been met
2. Contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit via email by clicking here to request an application packet which contains an application, two fingerprint cards, and a return envelope.
3. When requesting an application packet for a New Permit please including your mailing address.
Permit Terms: 1 year
Permit Costs: $60 for a new permit and $43 to renew a permit
Time to Process: The department gives 75 days to process applications once received
Age to Apply: 21 years
Places in Arizona where it is Still Illegal to Carry Even With Permit
- Any establishment or event open to the public where the operator makes a reasonable request for you to give them custody or remove the weapon from the premises. A sign would qualify for such request. By law, cities and counties are required to offer on-site storage if they ban weapons but not all are in compliance.
- The grounds of any school, other than the parking lot. In order to be legal in the parking lot the weapon must be unloaded, and, if left in an unattended vehicle, such vehicle must be locked and the weapon out of sight.
- Commercial nuclear or hydroelectric generating stations.
- Polling places on Election Day.
- Correctional facilities (this includes the parking lot of such facilities).
Link to Department of Public Safety